skip to content

Centre for Intellectual Property and Information Law

Thursday, 25 May 2023

Lionel BentlyCIPIL is extremely proud to report that its Deputy Director, Professor Lionel Bently KC (hon) has been selected from a long list of nominations received from the global IP community to be inducted in the IP Hall of Fame.

In making its selection, the IP Hall of Fame Academy chooses the nominees "it considers to have made the most outstanding contributions to the development of today’s IP system". Former inductees include judges such as Lord Kitchin (2020), Justice Stephen Breyer (2022) and Sir Robin Jacob (2006), lawyers such as Fred Mostert (2015) and Pravin Anand (2022), civil servants such as Andrea Iancu (2021), Antonio Campinos (2017) and Francis Gurry (2008), scholars such as Professors Jane Ginsburg (2008) and Graeme Dinwoodie (2020) and even inventors, such as Thomas Edison (2006).

Professor Bently has been selected as "one of the world’s foremost IP scholars", and the citation references his "influential articles on trade secrets, trademarks, copyrights, common law and IP, and the history of IP law in Britain and the British Empire."

Commenting upon his induction, Professor Bently stated "I am surprised but delighted to have been invited to join what is a stellar list of figures who have had a huge influence on the development of intellectual property."

Hearing the news of the selection, CIPIL Directors Professors Henning Grosse Ruse-Khan and David Erdos said "It’s great to see Lionel’s longstanding and incredibly substantial contribution to IP research and practice honoured in this way. We are proud to have Lionel at CIPIL, and to be able to learn from and work with him."


IP Hall of Fame